Wednesday, 4 June 2008

'Contingit' and 'accidit' in Boethius and Moerbeke

Albrecht Becker-Freyseng complained in his classic study Die Vorgeschichte des philosophischen Terminus 'contingens' (1938) that Boethius used 'contingit' as a dual-purpose translation of Aristotle's endechetai (it may be) and sumbainei (it happens) despite the availability of 'licet' for the former and 'accidit' for the latter.

Funnily enough, William of Moerbeke remedied this defect by rendering sumbainei as 'accidit' in his De interpretatione translation of 1268, but this version never gained currency – so much so that it still hadn't been printed by the time Becker-Freyseng was writing.

Becker-Freyseng would not, however, have been happy to see that Moerbeke followed the editio composita in using 'contingit' – rather than, say, 'accidit' – in his translation of Aristotle's phrase hopoteron/hopoter' etuchen (whichever/however it chances).

14 comments:

Ocham said...

I didn't know this. I'm struggling through a great many contingits and accidits at the moment. I'm doing some background reading on the commentaries on the sea-battle problem of c. 9 of the Peryhermenias.

Ice Dragon said...

Nếu bạn cần ship hàng nhanh hay giao hàng nhanh. Hãy liên hệ chúng tôi nhé. Ngoài ra nếu bạn quan tâm đến xu hướng sức khỏe thời đại. Hãy chờ đón điều gì mới ở megavita.

ane semprul said...

This blog is so nice to me. I will continue to come here again and again. Visit my link as well. Good luck
obat aborsi
cara menggugurkan kandungan
obat telat datang bulan
obat penggugur kandungan
obat aborsi
cara menggugurkan kandungan

Fangyaya said...

kobe 11 shoes
uggs italia
ray ban sunglasses outlet
coach outlet store online
adidas nmd
ugg slippers
ray bans
uggs outlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
jordans for sale
cheap beats headphones
nike outlet
cheap true religion
tods sale
cheap toms
michael kors
michael kors outlet online
ugg boots
timberland boots
christian louboutin sneakers
instyler
ugg canada
uggs sale
rolex watches
oakley sunglasses outlet
canada goose coats
cheap oakley sunglasses
tory burch flats
louis vuitton handbags
fitflops sale
cheap air jordans
ray ban outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
coach outlet store online
polo outlet
louis vuitton purses
louis vuitton handbags
michael kors outlet
jordan 3 powder blue
coach outlet online
20168.10chenjinyan

Eric Yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Ferragamo Belt http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger Outlet http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Indochinapost said...

Là một trong những doanh nghiệp hàng đầu trong lĩnh vực vận tải logistics, Indochina Post tự tin là đối tác vận tải tin cậy của quý khách hàng.
Đặc biệt
Từ Hà Nội, Indochina Post chuyên cung cấp dịch vụ chuyển phát nhanh giấy tờ, bưu phẩm tới toàn bộ tỉnh thành của Thái Lan: chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái Lan , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Bangkok , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Nakhon Ratchasimakorat , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Ubon Ratchathani , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Khon Kaen , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Buri Ram , chuyể n phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Udon Thani , chuyển phát nhanh từ Hà Nội đi Thái-Sisaket.

markohenry said...

I read your post, this is very effectivepost about voyage-gay-gayvoyageur.
Belt is most import accessories of a man.I think always buckle belt ,watch and tie matching excellent.Everybody should try to follow this.
markohenry@resently posted...prince zamira leather belts

Vận tải Đường bộ said...

Chúng tôi cung cấp dịch vụ vận chuyển hàng hóa đi Miền Trung uy tín chất lượng. Lộ trình xe chạy ổn định luôn được nhân viên theo dõi sát sao. Hàng hóa bạn gửi luôn được chúng tôi bảo quản cẩn thận tránh hư hỏng thất lạc hàng. Khi có nhu cầu vận chuyển hàng hóa hãy liên hệ chúng tôi ngay
HOTLINE : 19001733
Email : info@vanchuyenachau.com.vn

check cashing san diego said...

There are numerous sorts of registration booths, and every one of them generally works in an alternate way. A portion of these booths even perform different capacities beside check getting the money for, similar to wire exchanges, cash requests and bill installment.

Tho Xam said...

Nuoc mam diem dien một trong những đặc sản đến từ Thái Bình có từ hàng trăm năm nay đã được cục sở hữu trí tuệ VN bảo hộ. Với công nghệ cổ truyền lên men tự nhiên đượm hương thơm dầu dưỡng chất. Nước mắm Diêm Điền được người tiêu dùng trong cả nước bình chọn là hàng VN chất lượng cao.
Hãy tìm địa chỉ mua nước mắm truyền thống ở đâu để đảm bảo sức khỏe cho cả gia đình.
Cach lam thit ngam nuoc mam ăn là ghiền
Cach lam nuoc mam chay đơn giản tại nhà
Cach lam nuoc com tam cuc ngon từ masterchef
Cach lam muc chien nuoc com tam ngon ngất ngây
Cach lam nuoc chua ngot ngon khó quên
Danh sach nuoc mam chua thach tin
Do dam cua nuoc mam hiểu sao cho đúng

Adnan Qhalby said...

Recently, I didnt give lots of consideration to leaving comments on site page articles and have placed comments even much less. Reading via your nice posting, will assist me to do so sometimes.
obat thalasemia
obat patah tulang panggul
obat benjolan di kepala
obat tumor
obat benjolan di leher

so hoa said...

Là 1 doanh nghiệp Uy Tín – Đáng Tin Cậy. với chuyên nghiệp trong lĩnh vực ngân sách. Chúng tôi luôn đặt “Lời ích các bạn lúc vay tiền lên hàng đầu”. Sau thoáng đãng năm phát triễn nghiên cứu. nhận mặt được sự trở ngại và thủ tục rượm rà khi vay tiền thực tại. buộc phải chúng tôi đưa ra giải pháp mới ăn nhập mang khuynh hướng mới Vay tiền mặt – sở hữu tiền nhanh trong ngày.

1. Thủ tục vay thuần tuý nhất hiện giờ
Chỉ buộc phải hồ sơ ko cần giám định rườm rà. Bằng tài xế hoặc Hộ khẩu đã vay được tiền.
2. thời gian giải ngân tiền mặt nhanh nhất bây giờ
Cam kết phê duyệt giấy tờ trong 15 – 30 phút. Giải ngân tiền mặt sau 30 phút – đến 2h nếu làm giấy tờ trước 21H Tối. Chúng tôi cam kết giải quyết trong ngày. ko để tồn sang hôm sau.
3. Vay toền online miễn là bạn với mạng internet
toàn bộ lúc số đông nơi. xem xét website. Chúng tôi sẽ mang chuyên viên tham vấn giỏi hỗ trợ bạn. Bạn ko buộc phải nên đi xa chờ đợi. Chỉ nhu cầu nhấc máy và gọi. Sẽ vay được tiền.
4. không hề tài sản đảm bảo, không bắt buộc chứng minh thu nhập
Chỉ bắt buộc thủ tục đơn sơ như trên. Chúng tôi không phải ai bảo lãnh khoản vay cho bạn. bắt buộc cực kỳ lặng tâm không làm cho phiền người thân bạn.


vay tien nhanh, vay tiền nhanh, vay tiền online, vay tien online, vay tien, vay tiền, vay tien, vay tín chấp, vay tin chap, vay tiền nhanh nhất, vay tien nhanh online, vay tiền nhanh online, vay tiền online nhanh, vvay tien online nhanh,
vay tien nhanh nhat,

Pengobatan Atasi Radang Usus Buntu said...

Article very interisting, thanks for sharing information

Obat Untuk Mengikis Batu Ginjal
Cara Mengobati Benjolan Di Tangan
Obat Atasi Kandung Kemih Lemah
Cara Mengobati Radang Pembuluh Darah
Cara Alami Mengobati Ginjal Bengkak
Pengobatan Atasi Infeksi Rahim

Pervez Joarder said...


This can be exclusive perform the job. Appreciate it on your time intended for publishing this crucial point of your blog site. That price cut allow achievement. Thanks for featuring numerous useful tips from the blog site. Cool gadgets abide by that ticket trade show Thanks drastically for quality organize.